Richmond loop with some coast to coast

Today I ran just over 13 miles in a loop starting just west of Richmond. I wasn’t sure where I was going to park just aimed for the start of my planned route on Hurgill road. About a mile up the road I came across a free car park for Richmond’s old racecourse. The racecourse is no longer in use but is open to the public and appears to be well used by local dog walkers and runners. In the centre are the remains of the old grandstand, these are fenced off and are a grade II listed building, said to be the earliest known racecourse grandstand. 

I left the car park and took a path downhill to join the coast to coast route. The first section of my run was to follow this west to the small hamlet of Marske.

A bench on the hill overlooking the town of Richmond has a plaque with a quote from Alfred Wainwright, creator of the Coast to Coast route. I didn’t get to visit the castle today so will have to follow his recommendation another time. 

This section of the route was easy to follow, first through woodland and then open fields. 

After about 3 miles I reached the cairn which indicates where the route leaves the track and decends down a path to the left and then across the fields to Marske.

Here I left the coast to coast route and set off along a remote valley. I followed the track to the farm at the end before climbing up out of the valley and turning back, returning along the top to Marske.

From there it was back along the coast to coast route for just over a mile before dropping down to follow the path by the river Swale.

A final climb up a green lane took me back to the car. 

Leave a Reply

